savinghistory

In Uncategorized on April 10, 2009 at 2:36 PM

Good Morning Fellow Historians,

I’ve again found myself, at the end of a long work day, pouring through these letters written by my grandfather. They tell a story of a man and woman deeply in love but separated by illness. I never met my grandfather as he died when my own father was only 8 but through these letters I have come to know him, if only in a small way. As I transcribe his intimate conversations I am also getting a more accurate sense of the world he and my grandmother lived.  I feel a wrenching hurt for my grandmother, whom I remember as vivacious, yet in the heart of the Great Depression helplessly watch her husband die leaving her alone with 4 small children. I never really stopped to think of that before finding these letters.

Leave a Reply

