savinghistory

In Uncategorized on June 10, 2009 at 7:51 AM

Good Morning Fellow Historians,

I found myself wandering the local crafts store looking for photo type albums and similar supplies. The box of letters I’ve found seem to be multiplying so I need lots of “stuff” to save them in. There was an entire aisle dedicated to fancy little cut outs and frilly little page additions; I just wanted simple albums that would safely store these letters. The next aisle offered what seemed like an endless array of backgrounds; I just wanted a simple album. After four aisles I gave up. I found albums, none were simple however. In frustration I grabbed what looked like the most basic album I could spot only to discover it kept its complicated nature hidden inside. Now I remember why I have not attempted this preservation project before. Now I remember why I have draws of loose photographs organized in the “what is on top is relatively new” method. Scrapbooking and memory keeping are certainly big business  and produce lovely mementos but I must believe that in 100 years those who might chance upon what is left behind will not be as impressed with the lovely background on the page as they are with the content of the life lived. Truly, there is an easier way to Save History. I’m off to find it and I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

