savinghistory

The Things We Leave Behind

In Family History on November 29, 2011 at 3:15 PM

I’ve recently read Objects of Our Affection by Lisa Tracy. It discusses the journey she and her sister embark on after the death of their mother.[1] Like so many of us the author was responsible for dealing with the physical representation of her parent’s lives; household furnishings, family documents, memorabilia and such. While her journey was physical it was also emotional; many of the objects conjuring up memories long forgotten.

Over the course of several evenings I found myself looking up from the book at the collection of things within my own home. Because my home does not look cluttered I was surprised by how much I’d actually accumulated over the years. Many of these things, some little more than odd nick-knacks, hold a special place in my memory. It was time I gave them voice so I decided to create a brief tour of my stuff. Not the dreaded “let me show you our vacation pictures” tour but instead a simple jotting down of what each piece means to me and why, after all these years that ugly faded bud vase still sits proudly on my vanity.

Lisa Tracy and her sister were faced with a difficult task and a difficult time. The research they conducted yielded many answers but not for all their questions. Hopefully my little tour of my stuff will leave more answers than questions when the time comes. It was a great book and a great journey.

Remember, your own story is priceless…be sure to save it.

 

 


     [1] Lisa Tracy. Objects of Our Affection. (New York: Bantam Books, 2010)

Leave a Reply

