savinghistory

21st Century Commonplace Book

In Uncategorized on July 26, 2012 at 9:07 AM

I am currently researching John Evelyn, a 17th Century British Diarist, writer, and gardener. He, like so many of his contemporaries, kept a commonplace book; a journal to note thoughts, ideas, catch phrases, commentaries on literature, etc. Though I did not call my own “jottings” a commonplace book they are. Over the years I’ve jotted down thousands of quotes, ideas, and such. They are in notebooks, on scraps of paper, in the back of texts…simply put they are everywhere. Each time I set out to “clean” a shelf or bookcase I discover some and vow to organize them into a system that will encourage easy recall. Ha! Has not happened yet. So rather than clean up all the notes I’ve got I’ll start fresh today.

I set out searching for an application that would store and organize these pearls of genius and discovered Evernote. (http://evernote.com/). Seeing the elephant logo I remember I’d already downloaded the app to my phone….hmmm, mind like a trap or colander. Regardless, I downloaded the app to my tab, installed the desktop on my PC and I am set to go.

I am not sure if there are other programs out there…I suspect there are and I am not a spokesperson for Evernote. I do suggest you find one such program and start using it. Jot down the things that cross your mind, the funny things your children say, or anything else. They are easy to organize and that makes them easy to retrieve. If you never take the time to record your own life story these little tidbits will certainly shed light on who you were.

Remember…your story is priceless.

Leave a Reply

